Why I Like Birthdays

Today is my 26th birthday.

I like birthdays.  It’s fun to receive gifts and phone calls and texts.  It’s cool to open Facebook and see tons of notifications (even if most of those people don’t ever say anything to you the rest of the year).  It’s lovely to eat a cupcake and not feel guilty because, hey, it’s my birthday.

But more than that, I like birthdays because they are another opportunity for a fresh start.

I like fresh starts.  I like new years and new school years.  I like when everything seems to hit reset and you get another chance to fix mistakes and change your path.  It’s a time full of optimism and idealism and ridiculously high expectations; it rarely lasts, but it’s fun while it’s there.

As many of you know, 25 was a tough year.  Here are some ways I’m planning to make 26 better (while also acknowledging that a lot of things are not actually in my control):

1. One thing at a time – This mostly has to do with school.  So far this year, I am doing my best to focus on one thing at a time, starting with the most important.  This is difficult when that one thing is taking me a lot longer than expected and other things keep getting added to my to-do list, but I know it will be worth it in the long run.  Setting up my classroom would be great, but making sure I have a firm understanding of what my students need to accomplish this year and how we are going to get there is foundational.

2. Multitask – Ok, this seems contradictory to #1, but I don’t mean it in the traditional sense.  By multitasking, I mean I want to do things other than just work.  I do not want to be a teacher zombie again this year.  I like the person I am when I am not completely defined by my job.  So I will write.  I will hang out with friends.  I will go to Sunday night dinner even when I’m tired and don’t feel like being around people (I will leave at a decent time though…as in, not midnight, which is when I left two weeks ago).  I will read books for fun.  I will work out.  My life will be multifaceted.

3. Give myself grace – This is a big one for me.  Over and over again during morning devotions at in-service, I was reminded that my worth comes from my identity in Christ, not my performance as a teacher. (Side note: we had morning devotions every day at in-service, and they were awesome.  How am I so blessed?)  I am going to mess up.  I am going to have bad days.  I’m going to procrastinate.  I’ll probably turn something in late at least once this year.  But you know what’s awesome?  God’s mercies are new every morning.  I don’t have to wait for a birthday or a new year to get a fresh start; I have one every morning.  Now I just need to remember that.

So there it is!  Here’s to a fabulous 26th year of life!

*Photo Credit: Aih (Creative Commons)

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Happa happa happa birthday Rach!

    Reply
  2. Love this. Yes, a new year of life does feel more like a fresh start than New Year’s Day, in my opinion. I love the part about identity. I have to remind myself of this DAILY. Love you.

    Reply
  3. sarah9188

     /  August 9, 2012

    Happy birthday! I hope 26 is a much better year!

    Reply
  4. BIRTHDAYS ARE THE BEST!!! :D Happy Birthday! :)

    Reply
  5. Happy Happy Happiest of Birthdays to you! I really like number 3. Such a simple truth and yet SO HARD to get our minds around. Now I want a cupcake.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • August 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

