Why I Love My Job

Sooooo…remember how I was going to actually write and update my blog during the school year this year? Yeah, sorry about that.

As I should have predicted, blogging and writing and pretty much deep thinking in general has flown out the window, even after we got back in the swing of things. It’s really easy to forget during the summer just how much work goes into being a teacher and fool yourself into thinking that if you just make a couple of minor changes you will have oodles of free time.

The morning routine would have helped, except that right after I started it I got sick and felt pretty much horrible for two weeks. Sleep was a necessity and waking up at 4:15am was just not going to happen. Of course, after two weeks of not doing it, I kept saying I would start it back up again, but I always just ended up pushing snooze for an hour and I’ve now stopped even pretending I’m going to get up at that time. It didn’t help that football season started which makes it really difficult to go to bed at 8:30pm on Sundays and Mondays.

Even though all my grand plans have gone awry, I’m totally loving this school year. My students this year have been at our school since the culture shift and are totally bought in to what we do and the way we do it. It makes the class-to-class, day-to-day part of teaching so much better. We get to actually fun in class while we’re learning things!

It’s also really fun to see how much I’ve grown as a teacher. The improvement between my first and second year was pretty obvious, but with all the adjustments switching schools last year, I spent most of the year feeling like I was sliding backwards rather than improving as a teacher. This year, though, I can really see how much I’ve learned and it’s exciting to think that I may one day be the kind of teacher I loved when I was in school.

I wish I had time to tell you more about what we’ve been doing, but my planning period is about to end. In the meantime, go read a banned book this week.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • October 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Archives

